All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Gale Culinary Arts Collection Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
The Culinary Arts collection includes major cooking and nutrition magazines, culinary journals and several Delmar Reference titles. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Gale Onefile: Health and Medicine Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
This health database includes over 2800 journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
Hospitality & Tourism Index Restricted Resource Some full text available

A bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Combines Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, UK, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University.


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.


ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Multidisciplinary journal database.


Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available

Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 7,600 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.


Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available

Brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.


Proquest Business Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

1800 worldwide business periodicals. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Includes Proquest ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global and Trade and Industry.


Health Source: Nursing-Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available

Contains ~600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.


Newspapers

Proquest Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available

Coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.


Web Sites

Epicurious Food Dictionary

Online food dictionary


Food Timeline

Created by N.J. reference librarian, Lynne Olver, the Food Timeline presents food history information from a variety of sources.


Almanacs & Yearbooks

A to Z World Food Restricted Resource
Online database with articles on food cultures and related ingredients and recipes from around the world. Includes unit conversions, information on drinks, dining etiquette, national cuisines, daily meals, and unusual foods.
note: New Database in the 2017-18 Academic year!

E-Book

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project

The Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum have partnered to create an online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The goal of this project is to make these materials available to a wider audience.

Digital images of the pages of each cookbook are available as well as full-text transcriptions and the ability to search within the books, across the collection, in order to find specific information.


The Boston Cooking-School Cook Book

By Fannie Merritt Farmer. This is the full-text of the 1918 edition of the title more popularly known as the Fannie Farmer Cookbook. Has a good collection of cookie recipes.


Government Information

Nutrition.gov

Includes food safety and dietary guidelines.


Organizations

American Culinary Federation

Professional organization that promote education, apprentiship, and certification of culinarians.


National Restaurant Association

The Association's mission is to represent, educate and promote a rapidly growing restaurant industry.


Primary Sources

American Memory Collection
American History digital library from the Library of Congress. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

Regional

Food for Thought

All things culinary at the New York Public Library


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist