All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.


Gale Environmental Studies and Policy Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Environment Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.


Greenfile Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available

A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.


Proquest Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

A definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.


BioOne Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text articles from various research journals focused on biological, ecological and environmental studies.


Proquest Biology Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

full-text coverage of more than fifty leading journals in the Biology field.


Omnifile Select Restricted Resource Some full text available

Multidisciplinary full-text database.


Opposing Viewpoints in Context Some full text available
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
note: Access from NY State only.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Multidisciplinary journal database.


SORA- Searchable Ornithological Research Archive Some full text available
Extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
Gale Academic Onefile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains audio Some full text available
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC.

Web Sites

Earth Trends Environmental Information
"EarthTrends is a comprehensive online database, maintained by the World Resources Institute, that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world."
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful
Society of American Foresters
Links to International, National, Regional, and State forestry sites and major publications.

Search Available SAF Publications:
 
Searches:
Journal of Forestry
The Forestry Source
Forest Science
The e-Forester
Northern Journal of Applied Forestry
Southern Journal of Applied Forestry
Western Journal of Applied Forestry

The Oil Drum: Discussions About Energy and Our Future
A controversial website that claims to raise awareness of peak oil. Not peer-reviewed.

Government Information

TreeSearch
Treesearch is an online system for sharing free, full text publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist