All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Computer Database Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
Proquest Computing Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Multidisciplinary journal database.


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.


Web Sites

ArcGIS (free viewer)
Allows data viewing, but does not allow analysis.
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful
ERDAS Imagine (free viewer)
Allows data viewing, but does not allow analysis.
ENVI
A customizable remote sensing software package. 
ERDAS Imagine
Geospatial data authoring software. 
Esri-ArcGIS
GIS software company.
GRASS-GIS
This is one of the original GIS systems created by the Army Corp of Engineers. It is now open source. 
Idrisi
This GIS software is more oriented to raster datasets and is used for environmental modeling. Relatively inexpensive for students. 
Manifold System GIS
Inexpensive software package for a fully operational GIS.
Google Maps

Maps include business locations, contact information, and driving directions.


Wundermap

Weather Underground's interactive map of current weather conditions


Government Information

U.S. Geological Survey

The U.S. Geological Survey is an unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.


USGS National Map

USGS National Map


USGS Topo Maps

United States Geological Survey Topographic Maps


Bureau of Land Management Internet GIS Sites
 Contains links to GIS sites Bureau-wide and by state.
CORS
This site provides access to the national CORS system for downloading GPS base station data.
Earth Resources Observation and Science Center (EROS)
 Satellite and aerial imagery is accessible via this site.
National Geodetic Survey
Oriented more to surveyors, but there are a number of computer tools of use to GIS students.
NOAA Satellite & Information Service
This site holds the world's largest archive of weather data. It can be used to access weather station records and all weather stations have an accompanying Lat/Long of their location.
GeoData.gov

U.S. Maps and data


National Atlas

Includes a dynamic interactive map, printable maps in PDF format, and GIS data layers.


Organizations

Regional

Cornell University Geospatial Information Repository (CUGIR)
An active online repository that provides geospatial data and metadata for New York State.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist