All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

APA PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
The American Pyschological Association's database of Full-Text, Peer Reviewed journals published by the APA and associated organizations. Includes current and back-issue access to more than 100 journals in the field of Psychology.
note: New Database in 2018-19 Academic Year.
Gale Onefile: Health and Medicine Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
This health database includes over 2800 journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
Gale Psychology Collection Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index.
Proquest Psychology Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
With complete full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.


Health Source: Nursing-Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available

Contains ~600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.


MEDLINE Restricted Resource Some full text available

Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinic sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.


Proquest Social Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

A definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals on the social sciences.


Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source Restricted Resource Some full text available

Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.


ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Multidisciplinary journal database.


Gale Academic Onefile Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains audio Some full text available
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC.

Newspapers

New York State Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
full-text searchable database of 10 New York State newspapers, access through Gale.
National Newspaper Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides quick access to the indexing of Americas top five newspapers. The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

Web Sites

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful

Organizations

American Psychological Association
Based in Washington, DC, the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 148,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
APA Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct
Ethical principles of Psychology and Psychological Research written by the APA (American Psychological Association).

Statistics/Data

APA Links to Data Sets and Repositories
Page maintained by APA, a wealth of shared data are available for use in psychological science research. These data sets span a wide variety of topics. Examples of electronically available behavioral and social science data.
CDC Data & Statistics
Centers for Disease Control public landing page for data sets and statistics grouped by subject as well as further tools for exploration.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Search Tips
A few useful tips for searching web content suggested on this page:

Utilize tags. If a website tags their stories with keywords, you can use them to help narrow or broaden your search without having to navigate a website’s (often cranky) search box. Tags are usually found at the bottom of articles and appear as links.

Embedded search boxes. Most websites have embedded search boxes that search only that site’s content. They are usually located in the upper right of the screen, and they can save you lots of time from browsing.

Leverage Google. It sounds strange, but Google is often a quick and easy back door into searching a particular website. Google is extremely efficient at indexing the open web. Where a site’s embedded search engine can’t go, Google navigates with ease. Here’s the hack: In the Google search box type type “site:”, add the website URL, and your search terms. For example:



What results is a list of places on that website that contain the words you want and nothing else. Pretty neat! Notice there’s no space between the website URL and the site: . It won’t work if you put a space in there.